GlossyBox February

I’ve seen some of you talking about GlossyBox being awesome. I adore getting things in the mail, specially useful presents, so I said ‘why not? Subscribing to GlossyBox is like sending useful presents to myself!’. And, for only 10 quid a month, it keeps me from buying any other, more expensive beauty products the rest of the month.

So, in late February, it brought me so much joy to receive this big lovely box on the mail:

And that’s just the cardboard that protects the GlossyBox itself!

The GlossyBox is a stronger, harder box that can be opened like a shoe box or a gift box. It can be easily recyclable to keep your bric-a-brac or to put presents inside for friends and family – and maybe decorate it as Katha suggests. Or, perhaps, reuse it as a candy box for guests, if you host a lot of parties, work as a councelor of any sort at a private office, or use your house for CouchSurfing or regular meetups – Book Club, etc.

It’s not only pretty on the outside, but on the inside as well. It actually has the same pattern of the cardboard box, so there is a lot of coordination and style involved not only in the products but in the presentation. I usually despise monogrammes and find them to be tacky and show-off, but GlossyBox’s is pretty cute. A tiny crown, making you feel like a pampered Queen, even if your palace is a small flat and your Royal Carriage is the bus to the City Centre.

They have themes every month. February’s was London Fashion Week, and January’s was a Limited Edition Valentine’s Special, as reviewed here by Naomi. The summary of samples included prices of the full size presentations, and most of them were waaaaaaaaaaaay more expensive than the Glossybox. And the samples aren’t exactly tiny tiny tiny either. They can last you more than the month, and knowing me with using samples, more than a year.

Once you create an account with them, there is the option of creating your ‘profile’. It’s not a public profile like in social network websites, but a private one including your skin type, hair type, favourite perfume smells, etc. so they can choose the best products for you and your preferences. They send you about five products a month, but have a pool of more than ten products a month for them to choose for you. Therefore, the contents of every box are not exactly the same. If you and, say, your neighbour are subscribed, you can end up comparing what each one of you got in your respective boxes, borrow as appropriate, etc. and have some fun and bonding in the process.

Well, let me share you what I got on mine:

BECCA Beach Tint Watermelon, Dr Bronner Lavender Hand Sanitiser, Awapuhi by Paul Mitchell Wild Ginger Treatment Oil, BM Beauty Pure Mineral Eyeshadow, and Como Shambala Invigorate Shower Gel.

Dr Bronner’s Magic “All-One!” Organic Hand Sanitising Spray, Lavender.

It is very nice, generous in size, and can come in handy any time away from home. However, while the smell is delicious, it is also way too soothing. I don’t know if it has to do with the instant association of lavender=relax, but if you have an active agenda, the overwhelming smell (once again, a nice smell) can get you all sleepy and too calm to function. Maybe another, more energetic smell could be better.

BECCA Beach Tint

At first I was afraid it would be too sticky and unpleasant, like other tints and glosses. However, when trying it on my lips and cheeks, it felt reaaaally smooth and nice, and had a pretty natural colour. My husband hates the feel and taste of glossy products on my lips, but when he kissed me while wearing this, he didn’t have any negative comments. So it passed the trial of fire! The container says it’s waterproof, and it’s also kissproof. You can snog all you want and the colour will remain. Later, while skyping with mum, she commented on my rosey cheeks being full of life. If it can be noticed on a crappy webcam, then it works!

Como Shambala Invigorate Shower Gel

You know how I said Dr Bronner’s sanitiser needed a more energetic smell? Well, this is what I’m talking about. The scent is fresh and gingery, wonderful and invigorating indeed, and it stays on your skin – and bathroom – for a while. The skin feels really, REALLY soft afterwards. My husband couldn’t stop caressing it because it was so so smooth and nice. It still felt really soft the day after, and I did a small experiment: I washed my right arm with this shower gel, and my left arm with the usual Imperial Leather kind of stuff I had been using. Guess which arm was soft and shiny and which arm was sticky and lacklustre? The right arm, of course, won.

BM Beauty Pure Mineral Eyeshadow

It’s purely MAGICAL. On the container it looks like just another pinkish colour, but once you apply it on your eyes, you see aaall the shades of pink and yellow. Here’s a photograph taken with flash so you can see ALL THE GLITTER:

And a close-up of my face modeling both the eyeshadow and BECCA tint on cheeks and lips.

I really, really like it. And it doesn’t feel heavy at all. Unfortunately, the packaging is too small for the contents. I’m quite clumsy, so I keep spilling bits of it just by dipping the brush into the container. I would buy the full size product (seven pounds, quite reasonable) only if this did not happen and it came on a packaging big enough to hold it. It can get a bit messy.

Awapuhi by Paul Mitchell Wild Ginger Treatment Oil

More than a sticky treatment oil like those you have to activate on boiling water and leave in your hair for a million years, this actually feels and acts more like silk drops. Therefore, it is very convenient, quick, and can be used every day on all kinds of situations. You can apply it on dry hair after blow-dry or before hairdo, on wet hair before blow-dry, or – like I do – wet hair after taking a shower at night and letting it dry naturally while you sleep. It livens up every shade and colour in your hair. Until now, I have only tried it on brunette/dark red hair. I am going to get some blonde highlights later today, and we’ll see if it works the same. It will definitely mean I’ll have to change my GlossyBox profile settings. That’s another good thing about it: you can modify it as time goes by and your circumstances and aims are different.

What did you get on yours in February? If you haven’t subscribed, you can do it anytime. March’s box will be the Harrod’s Edition, only with products from such department store.

One response to “GlossyBox February

Leave a Reply

